It's all kids stuff.

Hopefully, we all know this scene from the Wizard of Oz. The line is now famous: “Lions and tigers and bears, oh my!”. The title of this blog post comes from that quote in the Wizard of Oz movie, if you’ve never watched it.

In Children’s Literature, I’ve noticed that quite a lot of animals are present in either an anthropomorphic way, or as pets. I’ll be taking some information that I researched in Cultural Studies last year to present my new slogan: “Bunny rabbits and mice, oh my!”

Before we get onto books, let’s talk nursery rhymes. There are several nursery rhymes featuring mice as the main character. In “Hickory Dickory Dock” the mouse keeps running up and down the clock as it strikes on the hour. “Three Blind Mice” shows mice as victims; their tails are cut off by a farmer’s wife, and it is shocking. Nursery rhymes…

View original post 3,736 more words

One response to “

  1. I’ve been meaning to post this before, and I’m sorry I’ve left it for so long.

    Thanks for the reblog. 🙂

Leave a Reply

