Were are monsters? In dreams.

I have already mentioned how holistic dream interpretation takes our physchology, neurology and memories as discrete spheres or universes of information from which are dreaming content is built. How we can use it, I still need to explain.

Lets take a nightmare, as an example. One of mine, since that as I also mentioned before:

you are always the best person to interpret your own dreams

I will use the one I had last night, since it is fresh.

I am sleeping on the couch as a sound wakes me up. In the corridor that enters the lounge room the light is on. It’s yellow glow is comforting. Then a noise, like the screeching of tires made of nails on a chalkboard. I see the light disappear and I am confronted with a grey and intense fear. I scream for help but it comes out as a pathetic mew. I do what is best and force myself to wake.

Now we take each of our universes and connect the dots, as it where.

I would first look at the fear and comfort as both being psychologically linked to the dream. Both threads are connected to my memories of feeling both of theses emotions. I have experienced them before so I know how they feel. Neurology comes in form of connecting each of these to a given situation that’s then fed back to a memory. We can also connect each character. Yellow light is delight, comfort. Absence of light, and grey are fear. The couch is a place of neutrality, a object that has no connection other than one to the feeling of sleep and dreaming itself. The lounge room is a setting for which my memory has pulled as where I actually fell asleep at least at one point and the tactile feeling of doing so is drawn into the dream itself. Finally the self is the character experiencing these things. The body is the object that feels fm fear and joy, has those feelings attached with each other.

As you can see we can go quite deep into this. We can get more content from each dream, actually look at each character in a objective and subjective way. Both are good, and together we can find answers to one of our big mysteries in dreams like why do I have nightmares that focus my fear on certain events.
It’s clear I don’t like the color grey. I quite like the color yellow. I have memories and experiences that have been attached to both deep within my psychology and even neurology. It’s a legitimate fear for me, and I seem to want to escape from it.

But how would I escape from such a fear?
Only deep psychologists might know. I am only a armature. Dreamwork can help us escape, but it is only one tool. A tool that’s effective, but can be easily corrupted by our own mind. This is a topic for further exploration in the coming weeks.

Leave a Reply

