How do you incorporate paganism and your spirituality into your everyday life?

To cut a long story short, routine.

The long story:
I have a small group of friends and my wife who get together and do ritual work with. The rituals follow the standard set of pagan holidays, though we combine Beltine/Ostara and sometimes others. Litha we just have a movie night as it often to hot to ritual. Yule we have a kind of AGM gab fest thing. Its not a strict tradition. I get heaps out of doing it still so I am hopeful it continues for a while.

I’m mostly a kitchen / house witch these days. I do do many spells etc because mostly its a case of having explored it, and learned about it, I have discovered much simpler ways to do things. Every now and again I do a bigger ritual to help with stuff. I have done a few related to transition. I am about to start work writing up a new one for my 1 year anniversary.

In my general practice:

Wednesday I have a lunchtime meditation.

Saturday I do a week end prayer.

I do general household spells, such as protection spells, altar maintenance spells, cleaning spells. I also do some kitchen witchery, adding certain energies to foods / tea. Most of my ritual work these days is doing spells to make sure other rituals work. i.e. maintaining the space, altar tools, etc. I also have been doing a few job related spells. Mostly though I live by the ethos that the gods help those who help themselves. Unless you do work on the stuff you want your are not going to get it.
Basically you can ask the gods to win Lotto a billion times but they will just stand their in their whatever it is shouting back “Buy a bloody ticket.”

I do lucid dreaming as often as I can. Dream work used to make up the bulk of my practice. Having Finn put that to the wayside a bit. I generally try to do more dream work in the colder months as I seem to get better sleep cycles then.

History
I have tried OBOD Druidry, and I did about 1/3 of a course in Wiccan practice run by the local coven. Druidry fitted with me better, but still doesn’t quite cut it. Wicca and I don’t get on for philosophical reasons, which is another story.

Leave a Reply

